OUR SHOP RECOMMENDS...

Search By Tags
Recent Posts
Please reload

Following the much acclaimed debut Everything, Everything is Nicola Yoon’s second novel The Sun is also a Star. This is a story unfolding over a course of a single day in New York; told in alternating chapters from Natasha's and Daniel's viewpoints, interwoven with chapters on a variety of subjects in a socio-historic context.

Natasha’s family will be deported to Jamaica in twelve hours. Natasha is practical, a realist, some might say; a cynic.  Daniel Jae Ho Bae has an interview at the Yale admissions office to study medicine, but if it was up to him, he would be writing poetry and travelling the world.

A chance encounter entwines their day as they travel around New York in a complicated maze of appointments. 

Nicola Yoon writes about her characters with warmth and humour and you want to follow Natasha and Daniel from page to page. Observing their chance encounters with other New Yorkers, the glimpse into their lives painting a brilliant picture of a city simultaneously busy and some tim...

Every now and again, a book comes along that you want to stand on rooftops to shout about. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas is one of these books.  It is an important book, a vital book, a book that would help society along the evolutionary path, if only everyone would read it.

The main character is Starr who leads two different lives – on an estate where drug dealing and related crimes are part of every day life and in her majority white private school. Having witnessed her unarmed friend Khalil killed by the police officer Starr has to cope with pressures of the investigation as well as the multiple challenges that her family face from the local community.

This is a story about racism in 21st century America, throughout all the layers of society, whether it is institutionalised  or more local and reinforced by the media. This is also a young woman's search for her own identity and voice whilst dealing with trauma.

But it is not just in the themes and subject matter that The Hate U G...

A gorgeous debut picture book about a girl who is raised by the forest animals. One day she is “rescued” and taught the ways of civilised people but she won't be tamed that easily...

This book is for the brave little (or big) person in your life who refuses to follow rules and isn't afraid of being themselves.

Suitable for 3+

Reviewed by Jo

Sophia's uncle is kidnapped soon after New Occident decides to close their borders and expunge foreigners from their cities. She gathers her courage and travels to the distant Ages to discover the truth behind the Sandmen's motives and their connection to the Great Disruption. Masterful and immersive world-building from a debut author that makes readers view time and history in a new light. A brilliant fantasy adventure perfect for fans of His Dark Materials and looking to set off on a new journey.

Suitable for 11+

Reviewed by Jo