OUR SHOP RECOMMENDS...

Search By Tags
Recent Posts

Wild by Emily Hughes

A gorgeous debut picture book about a girl who is raised by the forest animals. One day she is “rescued” and taught the ways of civilised people but she won't be tamed that easily... This book is for the brave little (or big) person in your life who refuses to follow rules and isn't afraid of being themselves. Suitable for 3+ Reviewed by Jo

The Glass Sentence by S.E.Grove

Sophia's uncle is kidnapped soon after New Occident decides to close their borders and expunge foreigners from their cities. She gathers her courage and travels to the distant Ages to discover the truth behind the Sandmen's motives and their connection to the Great Disruption. Masterful and immersive world-building from a debut author that makes readers view time and history in a new light. A brilliant fantasy adventure perfect for fans of His Dark Materials and looking to set off on a new journey. Suitable for 11+ Reviewed by Jo

The Flying Classroom by Erich Kastner

A Christmas classic from the author of Emil and the Detectives. Five schoolboys get ready to rehearse their self-penned Christmas play when word gets round that a fellow student has been held captive by boys from the rival school in town. Mayhem and high-jinks follow, which includes an epic snowball fight. Suitable for 7+ Reviewed by Jo

SJ Kincaid: Setting As A Character

Great to have THE DIABOLIC author SJ Kincaid on the site today talking about setting as a character! THE DIABOLIC is published 1st November (that’s TODAY!) by Simon & Schuster. I’m the author of the INSIGNIA series, and the upcoming book, THE DIABOLIC. I could honestly go on and on about world building for these sci-fi novels in the future, but I’ll try to keep this from becoming a novel in itself. They are both sci-fi stories set in the future – one a bit further in the future than now. I’ve found one single element in world-building that is most critical for me: the setting. I need a place where the action takes place. That’s what gives my imagination the images I need for devising the plo

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube